David Rodigan To Mix Ministry Of Sound’s Next Masterpiece Series


Reggae connoisseur David Rodigan has been chosen to mix the next Ministry of Sound Masterpiece collection.

Joseph aka The Auracle was fortunate enough to see David Rodigan perform and the British reggae DJ has been chosen to curate the next Ministry of Sound compilation from their Masterpiece series, where DJs and musicians are asked to choose music that has influenced them. The 3-CD set will be out on 27th January next year so be prepared for the best in vintage pop and soul, classic reggae, ska, rocksteady, dub and dancehall and some newer variations from the likes of Amy Winehouse and Luciano.

Peep the tracklist after the jump.


CD1: Hey Youthman

01. The Kinks – You Really Got Me
02. The Yardbirds – For Your Love
03. Marvin Gaye – Ain’t That Peculiar
04. The Impressions – Gypsy Woman
05. James Brown & The Famous Flames – I Loves You Porgy
06. Etta James – At Last
07. The Tornadoes – Telstar
08. Small Faces – Itchycoo Park
09. Dusty Springfield – You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me
10. Bessie Banks – Go Now
11. Aaron Neville – Tell It Like It Is
12. Jet Harris & Tony Meehan – Diamonds
13. Justin Hinds & The Dominos – Carry Go Bring Come
14. Desmond Dekker – Beautiful And Dangerous
15. Alton Ellis – Black Man’s Pride
16. Bob Marley & The Wailers – Small Axe
17. Delroy Wilson – Love Uprising
18. Augustus Pablo – Java

CD2: Cool Out Son

01. Dennis Brown – My Time
02. Bob Andy – Life
03. The Heptones – Meaning Of Life
04. The Abyssinians – Poor Jason Whyte
05. Freddie McGregor – Big Ship
06. Johnny Osbourne & The Sensations – See And Blind
07. Brent Dowe – When The Sun Goes
08. Jackie Edwards & Julie Anne – In Paradise
09. Cornell Campbell – Harry Hippy
10. Lloyd Charmers – Colour Him Father
11. Tessanne Chin – You Got What I Need
12. Etana – Reggae
13. Tarrus Riley feat. Winston ‘Mr Fix It’ Francis – Hurt Me
14. Aswad – Back To Africa
15. Astrud Gilberto – (Take Me To) Aruanda
16. Arthur Prysock – Autumn In New York
17. Garnet Mimms & The Enchanters – A Quiet Place
18. Billy Stewart – Sitting In The Park

CD3: Stepping Out of Babylon

01. Lee “Scratch” Perry and The Upsetters – Black Panta
02. Marcia Griffiths – Stepping Out Of Babylon
03. Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley – One Loaf Of Bread (Something For You)
04. Luciano – Deliverance
05. Exco Levi – Storms Of Life
06. Nadine Sutherland – Karma
07. Riva Starr feat. Bob Andy – The Care Song
08. Amy Winehouse – You’re Wondering Now
09. Liam Bailey – When Will They Learn
10. Cate Ferris – Blaze Bright
11. Beres Hammond – No Candlelight
12. Ini Kamoze – England Be Nice
13. Raging Fyah – Nah Look Back
14. King Tubby & Johnny Clarke – Knock Out Punch
15. Busy Signal – Modern Day Slavery
16. Morgan Heritage – Stand Up
17. The Lee Thompson Ska Orchestra feat. Bitty McLean – Fu Man Chu
18. Paul S.C.U.B.I Smith – Word Smith

(via FACT)

About Luke Alex Davis

Luke Davis is a music producer and editor of music blog Sampleface. In his spare time, he enjoys watching tennis and football and reading.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.