NEWS: Zero 7 Set To Release New Tracks On 26th August


For the first time in three years, Zero 7 are set to release some new material on 26th August.

You have NO idea how exciting this news is for me. Downtempo group Zero 7 are synonymous with chilled out vibes and tracks such as Destiny, In The Waiting Line and Home (the first two on their superb debut, Simple Things). If you’re in the UK and watch any house programmes on TV, 9/10 you’ll have heard a Zero 7 track in the background. Well, after laying low in the music biz of late, the duo are back with some brand new material for the first time since their 2010 album Yeah Ghost. The tracks will be available on a limited edition white label 12-inch called ‘On My Own’, as well as a digital download. The title track features new collaborators whom the duo had never worked with previously when speaking to Contact Music.

“Both tracks were written with singers we haven’t worked with previously. Title track ‘On My Own’ features Danny Pratt (AKA Danny Boy), a native of Canberra, Australia who we met in London last year. This is the first of a couple of songs that we plan to release featuring Danny on vocals.”

On My Own is a stark difference to the chilled atmospheric music they made their names from, with a layering house beat before Danny Pratt’s perfectly chosen vocals kick in. It feels like an unintentional answer to Daft Punk’s Get Lucky but without a lot more laid back and without the sleek and shiny dance floor element. That just makes it sound even better.

Stream “On My Own” track below.

(via Contact Music)

About Luke Alex Davis

Luke Davis is a music producer and editor of music blog Sampleface. In his spare time, he enjoys watching tennis and football and reading.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.