Hip Hop

How Did We Miss That: Madlib Live At Chocolate City (Live Mix)


On today’s “How Did We Miss That?”, we check out a free Madlib live mix.

Back in 2001, Madlib dropped a live mix over at KCRW’s Chocolate City featuring a vibrant mix of old and new. We’re talking Ahmad Jamal, Jay Dee, Weather Report and Herbie Hancock to name a few. Luckily, Stones Throw have provided a MP3 of the whole mix for your listening pleasure.

Peep the tracklist and stream the mix on Mixcloud.

Chocolate City Mix on Mixcloud


1 Papa – Joe McDuphrey Experience
2 Misdemeanor – Amhad Jamal
3 Freedom Jazz Dance – Eddie Jefferson
4 Almustafa The Beloved – Billy Cobham & George Duke Band
5 F*** The Police (Edited) – Jay Dee
6 The Sun (feat. Dwele) – NSM
7 Gettin’ High – Eddie Warner
8 Back On The Block – Pete Rock & CL Smooth
9 Beej N Dem – Slum Village
10 Windy C – 100% Pure Poison
11 Back In The Country – Hurricane Smith
12 River People – Weather Report
13 Just Came To Say Goodbye (Intro) – Shawn Phillips
14 Cat – Teruo Nakamura
15 Tohubohu – Marc Moulin
16 Thoughts Of Old Flame – Pleasure
17 Hustlers Convention – The Last Poets & Kool & The Gang
18 (Unknown track)
19 Two Sides – NSM
20 Trash Da Junk – Da One Way
21 (Unkown track)
22 Maiden Voyage – Kellee Paterson
23 Think Twice – J Dilla (Jay Dee)
24 Moment Of Truth – Earth Wind & Fire
25 Life’s Angles – Yesterdays New Quintet
26 Jealousy – Tony Allen
27 Gypsy Woman – Curtis Mayfield
28 Good Vibrations – Roy Ayers
29 Atma Tomorrow – Michael Urbaniak
30 (Unkown track)
31 Do Drop In – Love Unlimited Orchestra
32 Vera Cruz (Empty Faces) – Flora Purin
33 Tell Me a Bedtime Story – Herbie Hancock

Hi, it's Luke, the editor of Sampleface! Why not subscribe to my Patreon and support the blog?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.